The UK Rules
'Follow the Regulations'
6 Nations Tournament

Six Nations Rugby Championship

'6 Nations, 6 Teams, 6 Weeks of Rugby Union, only 1 Champion!'

SIX NATIONS RULES: The 'NatWest sponsored' Championship is a rugby point system battle. The aim is to crown the international tournament 6 nation winners each year.

It takes place around February to March dates, as a rule, but occasionally the games run into April.

The annual battle for the rugby union 6 Nations International Tournament takes place over seven weekends.

It is fiercely contested between six European six nations countries. The format integrates England, France, Wales, Ireland, Scotland, and Italy.

Home rule advantage gets alternated each year. All teams play against the other five only once throughout a total of 15 matches per season.

Two RBS points get awarded for every win and one point per team for a draw. The triumphant team with the most rugby union points after all the games finish is duly crowned the Rugby Union Six Nations Champions.

RBS Points: 6 Nations Point System

The NatWest Six Nations Tournament introduced a bonus-point system for the 2017 championship. The new Six Nations rules encourage and reward teams for attacking play and try scoring.

Teams will get 4 points for a win in the 6 Nations Competition. Scoring four or more tries will also earn the team an extra bonus point.

A losing team could actually grab two bonus points. They would get 1 if they score four or more tries and extra point if they lose by less than a 7 point margin.

If a team take the Grand Slam title by winning all five games they will get 3 extra bonus points. Teams will now get 2 points each for a draw.

Related Story: Rugby Six Nations Try New Bonus Point System in 2017

6 Nations Rules: Rugby Union Scoring SystemSix Nation Winners 2018 - Ireland

Occasionally the outright trophy winner cannot get determined by the total tally of 6 Nations points system alone.

If this happens, the Six Nations rugby regulations decide the winner by match-points difference.

They achieve this by subtracting the team's match-points 'against' from their match-points 'for' in all their Rugby Union Championship matches.

What if that process still does not produce a clear champion?

In this case the tournament victory goes to the squad who scored the most tries during the whole competition. The Championship is shared between the winners of the six nations if the points still match.

Six Nations Rules: Grand Slam

The 6 Nation Grand Slam Winners would be the country who wins the tournament and also wins all their rugby matches over the other five teams.

6 Nations Rules: Triple Crown

Each season, the four Home Unions of England, Ireland, Scotland, and Wales also compete for the title of Triple Crown.

A rugby union Six Nations Triple Crown winner is any home union team who won all their matches against the other three home countries.

Six Nations Rugby History

The history of the Six Nations Rugby dates back to 1882. The oldest rugby championship in the world began as the English squad headed to Swansea on a bleak wintery day.

England eventually overcame the Welsh team by scoring four tries and two goals.

Despite being much disorganized and with almost no codified rugby union rules and regulations or clear point system, the oldest rugby championship in the world had started.

Who could foresee the path that the 'International Rugby Six Nations Championship' in the northern hemisphere was about to take.

In terms of rugby union, this could be attributed as the turning point for the modern game as we know it.

The tournament was originally a competition between the home countries of England, Wales, Scotland, and Ireland.

The national game grew in popularity and France joined in 1910 coinciding with the opening of the new home for the Rugby Football Union (RFU) at Twickenham.

English rugby entered its golden era as England revelled in success over Wales in the first ever international at Twickenham. Italy is the most recent team to join the six nations contest, enlisting in the millennium year 2000.

Also in this section...

Basics of Rugby: A simple list of the most important regulations of rugby.
Laws of Scrummaging: RFU rugby rules and regulation for the rugby scrum.
Forming a Scrum: How to form the scrum according to Rugby Union Rule 20.1.
Rugby Equipment List: A checklist of basic match kit needed for the game.
Rugby Union FAQ: Find the answers to the most asked questions in rugby.
Rugby Union Maul Rules: Find out how rugby laws of the game govern mauling.
Rugby Player Positions: How do 15 players fulfill different roles and responsibilities?
Rugby Sevens Rules: 7 regulations that make rugby 7s a fast-moving tournament game!
Rugby Terminology: A concise list of rugby terms and phrases from A-Z.
IWRF Wheelchair Rugby Rules with Pictures: A guide to playing wheelchair rugby.
World Rugby Union Rules Book [PDF Download Option].

Rugby Union News Headlines

FCA Hospitality Rules: Financial service advisers warned against receiving free invitations to sports events and social dinners.
New Zealand All Blacks Haka Guide: The basic rugby rules, tactics, history, and guidelines behind the sport's most feared and respected pre-match ritual.

Six Nations Rugby Championship: RBS Points and Rugby Union Scoring System