The UK Rules
'Follow the Regulations'
Antisocial Behaviour Order

Antisocial Behaviour Order

What is an Antisocial Behaviour Order in England? The ASBO got introduced as part of the Crime and Disorder Act and first came to force in 1999. In 2005 ASBOs got amended through the most recent Serious Organised Crime and Police Act.

ASBO: This page explains why you can get given an Antisocial Behaviour Order and what will happen if you break it.

ASBOs are civil orders. They aim to protect the public from people who behave antisocially.

In particular the ASBO targets antisocial behaviour that causes alarm, distress, or harassment.

For example: An ASBO may prohibit a person from entering defined areas or carrying out specific anti-social acts.

Anyone over the age of 10 who is behaving in an antisocial manner can receive an ASBO. Typical examples of antisocial behaviour would include:

Note: Different rules apply for Antisocial Behaviour Orders in Scotland.

Anyone who gets an ASBO will have restrictions put in place. They will not be able to do certain things in public such as:

How Long is an ASBO?

The penalty period for an ASBO is at least 2 years. But, it can get reviewed and shortened if your social behaviour improves.

ASBO Penalties

It is a criminal offence to break or 'breach' the stipulations of an ASBO. Breaching or disobeying an Antisocial Behaviour Order can result in a court sentence. The length of sentencing for an ASBO breach penalty depends on your age and the circumstances behind the misdemeanor.

ASBOs for Young Offenders

Young offenders of an ASBO can get fined up to £250 if they are between 10 and 14 years old. ASBO penalties can be £1,000 for those who are between 15 and 17 years.

ASBO offenders under 16 may need to get the fine paid by their parents. ASBOs for young offenders may also result in:

ASBO for Adults

ASBO penalties for adults can result in a fine up to £5,000 or a prison sentence for up to 5 years, or both.

Antisocial Behaviour Order (ASBO) Penalties in England; UK Rules Updated 2017